President Donald Trump signed proclamations imposing a 25% tariff on imported steel and a 10% tariff on imported aluminum. During a signing ceremony, Trump said that the tariffs will, in general, apply to imported steel from all countries. However, Canada and Mexico will be excluded for the time being while they and the U.S. renegotiate the North American Free Trade Agreement. 

Trump also said there could be exceptions made for other countries through negotiations. The tariffs take effect in 15 days.